Battle of Stalingrad: Urban Warfare
- The Battle of StalingradArmy University Press in association with the Combined Arms Doctrine Directorate presents an overview of the German invasion of the Soviet Union in its documentary film, Stalingrad: The Campaign. Opening with Operation Case Blue in 1942, this documentary covers the German advance east and its eventual culmination. The film concludes with the Soviet counterattack, Operation Uranus, and the surrender of the German Sixth Army in February 1943. This film also highlights current U.S. Army doctrine as it relates to large scale combat operations, most notably in offensive operations, counterattacks, lines of communication, and sustainment of tempo.
Cuba
Cuban Missile Crisis | Historical Documents
On October 15, 1962, the Soviet Union was discovered attempting to install nuclear missiles in Cuba. These missiles would have been capable of quickly reaching the United States. President Kennedy responded with a naval blockade.
Cuban Missile Crisis Resources
Cold War: A Brief History explores the critical events of the Cold War that endured from about 1947 until the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991 and thr rise of the new nuclear threats.
- Communist Influence in Cuba
- Castro and the Cuban Revolution
- Cuba Castro and the United States
Article taken from the journal Foreign Affairs
- The “Cuban Question” and the Cold War in Latin America, 1959–1964
An LSE reprint: July 2019 Journal of Cold War Studies 21(3) DOI: 10.1162/jcws_a_00896
- An Interview with Fidel Castro (1977)
- Granma Archives Index
The Granma Archives Index is a searchable Spanish-language data base of articles published from 1965 to 1992 in the official daily newspaper of the Cuban Communist Party, Granma. This data base provides bibliographic references for the articles, including headlines, length of the article, date, and author. Full-text of the articles is not available online. UT Austin students and faculty can find full-text articles at the Benson Latin American Collection. For other areas, please consult your local librarian for assistance or find the nearest location with holdings for Granma using WorldCat.
This data base was compiled by the research department of the Radio Martí Program, sponsored by the U.S. Information Agency. For additional information, consult the History of the Granma Archives Index.